Do I need an auxiliary oil cooler?

This is a READ ONLY forum dedicated to Maintenance, repair tips and a general knowledge database. For comments or questions, use the Comment forum below.

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

Do I need an auxiliary oil cooler?

Postby Larry Jowdy » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:19 am

I've been messing with VW's for over 40 years. Yes, the dog house cooler (cooler on the back of the fan shroud) works much better than the old internal style cooler that mixed hot air from the oil cooler with the cool intake air. Usually, #3 cylinder suffered from the old design. Those that believe the stock cooler is sufficient to cool oil in a big bore/stroked engine probably have a broken oil temperature gauge. Remember, the stock VW cooler was designed for an engine that produced 53 horsepower and probably never exceeded 4,500 RPM's.

It's my opinion that an extra cooler is an investment in the future.(of your engine).... Especially if the ambient air temperature exceeds 80 degree's and or the humidity level raises along with the air temp..

It doesn't take long for the oil to heat up and since your engine uses both air and cool oil to keep the internal temp's within check, I ALWAYS suggest an additional cooler. It's wise to have the cooler with the thermostat. The thermostat allows the oil to warm up and reach operating temperatures. Additionally, if the extra cooler is not in a good air stream, the optional fan helps the cooler radiate heat from the fins of the
cooler.

Additionally, it's really wise to have the engine modified for a full flow oil system in conjunction with the cooler. Having a filter add's about another quart of oil between the lines and the filter..

Additional information