Jumping VDO Tach

Engines, Transmissions, running gear, etc.

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

Jumping VDO Tach

Postby EricTheRed » Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:32 am

VDO Tach just started jumping around. When driving it will generally stay at RPM but at idle it's now jumping all over the place. Looked around for loose wires, everything looks ok and nothing loose I can feel. Thinking this is a common issue, can anyone provide input? Thanks
EricTheRed
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:48 am

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby egrant5329 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:57 am

When mine started doing it the only fix was new internals.

This is what Palo alto speedometer told me in 2017." I am assuming that you have the Chinese or Brazilian reproduction gauges? We are seeing more and more of the repro gauges fail. The only repair that we can offer on the early Beck gauges is to replace the internals with new VDO Germany internals. There is no repair on these early repro gauges. The new internals will fit into the same housing, and maintain the same connections. The cost is $295.00 + shipping, and takes about 3 weeks to turn around."

EdG
User avatar
egrant5329
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:14 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby EricTheRed » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:02 pm

Just went out again for another run. Used the turn signal, and the gauge started bouncing more? Not to the flash of the signal but more jumpy when on? So odd...
EricTheRed
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:48 am

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby egrant5329 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:11 pm

Before I sent mine in, I made sure the guage was grounded and hooked a new tach wire straight from the source. It did the same thing. It wasn't long until it stopped working all together. It's been working fine since they reworked it.
EdG
User avatar
egrant5329
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:14 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby Mattq11 » Sun Sep 29, 2019 1:50 pm

My Tach was completely dead sent to Palo Alto replaced parts with German now it works but just jumps around. Now I dont know if its my tach or the connections.

Any thoughts?
Mattq11
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:04 am

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby egrant5329 » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:15 pm

Palo Alto would have tested before sending it out. I suspect it is a ground or tach connection.
EdG
User avatar
egrant5329
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 5:14 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby Larry Jowdy » Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:55 am

Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
User avatar
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 8437
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Ontario, California USA

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby EricTheRed » Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:16 pm

Thanks Larry I'll check that out, still jumping like a kid in a bounce house!
EricTheRed
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:48 am

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

Postby Mattq11 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:52 pm

Had the same issue with my charmonix 550s. brazilian tach sent to palo alto and they replaced parts to german wity very fast service.. now it just jumps around.

palo alto sending me a signal dampner
Mattq11
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:04 am


Return to Tech Engines/Mechanical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron