SUBARU ENGINE INLINE WATER PUMP

Engines, Transmissions, running gear, etc.

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

SUBARU ENGINE INLINE WATER PUMP

Postby fastspyder » Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:34 pm

Hello

i would like to know if some of you with a Subaru Engine, installed an InLine Electric Water Pump...?????
what kind did you use and where did you installed it...???

Thank You !
fastspyder
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$

Re: SUBARU ENGINE INLINE WATER PUMP

Postby Larry Jowdy » Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:14 am

Stick with the stock Subaru waterpump. I've been running the same pump for over 15 years without a problem. There is NO advantage to having an inline pump on a Subaru engine. Forcing too much water throug the system keeps the water from cooling down while in the radiator. Granted, the thermostat will prevent the water from rushing through the water jackets so what's the point of having an expensive in line water pump? Most of these inline pumps push about 50 gallons of water while the stock pump pushes 20 gallons. Basically to utilize the 50 gallons that the inline pumps, you'd need a radiator for a diesel truck/tractor. The gain in HP isn't worth the cost of the pump.
Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner

Postby fastspyder » Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:45 am

Larry...

Did you removed the thermostat ??? because on hot days....i'm afraid that the Subaru at idle...will over heat...
that's why i wanted to installed the electric water pump....but if in you are saying i do not need...??? but i bought it already....
:-(

you have a Sandrail 2.5 l turbo ???? and what is the temperature on hot days...??? 90-100 F. ????
fastspyder
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$

Postby Larry Jowdy » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:20 am