Can't catch a break

Engines, Transmissions, running gear, etc.

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

Can't catch a break

Postby Drummerskey » Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:33 am

I will try to make this short........Over the weekend, I took the Spyder out for a quick drive (it wasn't the first this year) and about halfway through a less than 10 mile drive, the car started sputtering really bad. The last time it rode like this, my manifold bolts loosened and the hex bar fell off but that wasn't the case this time. If I gas it harder, it will drive normal but low rpms is almost undrive-able. I need some basic troubleshooting help over what I have done so I can limp it to the mechanic. It seems like a fuel issue or a vacuum leak to me but I am not a mechanic. The car just got a tune up last summer, the fuel pump was changed over to electric but all new filters and lines were added. There is old gas but it has the Stabilz (or however you spell it) and I did start it and run it every few weeks while it sat.

I have already: checked the exhaust bolts, the manifold bolts, the idle jets were cleaned, spark plugs and wires are new but I checked them all for tightness, I checked the connections at the distributor, checked the play in the hex bar. The filters are the plastic things and although the filter is dark-ish, it seems in order and I can see fuel move when I hit the gas.

I am planning on changing the fuel filters if needed but would likely drain the gas tank and put in new gas if I do this. I need starter fluid to check for leaks near the manifold gaskets (but one was replaced a year and a half ago).

Am I missing anything?
Scratch and Sniff model avaiable
Drummerskey

Re: Can't catch a break

Postby RVosari » Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:25 am

Hi Key,

The problem is "something" getting into your idle jets...if the car runs on the main circuit...higher than say 3500 RPM... it's the idle jets.

Race gas / Av gas could be blue or purple...normal unleaded is clear or mildly yellow...not dark.