Page 1 of 1

Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:32 am
by EricTheRed
VDO Tach just started jumping around. When driving it will generally stay at RPM but at idle it's now jumping all over the place. Looked around for loose wires, everything looks ok and nothing loose I can feel. Thinking this is a common issue, can anyone provide input? Thanks

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:57 am
by egrant5329
When mine started doing it the only fix was new internals.

This is what Palo alto speedometer told me in 2017." I am assuming that you have the Chinese or Brazilian reproduction gauges? We are seeing more and more of the repro gauges fail. The only repair that we can offer on the early Beck gauges is to replace the internals with new VDO Germany internals. There is no repair on these early repro gauges. The new internals will fit into the same housing, and maintain the same connections. The cost is $295.00 + shipping, and takes about 3 weeks to turn around."

EdG

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:02 pm
by EricTheRed
Just went out again for another run. Used the turn signal, and the gauge started bouncing more? Not to the flash of the signal but more jumpy when on? So odd...

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:11 pm
by egrant5329
Before I sent mine in, I made sure the guage was grounded and hooked a new tach wire straight from the source. It did the same thing. It wasn't long until it stopped working all together. It's been working fine since they reworked it.
EdG

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 1:50 pm
by Mattq11
My Tach was completely dead sent to Palo Alto replaced parts with German now it works but just jumps around. Now I dont know if its my tach or the connections.

Any thoughts?

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:15 pm
by egrant5329
Palo Alto would have tested before sending it out. I suspect it is a ground or tach connection.
EdG

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:55 am
by Larry Jowdy

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:16 pm
by EricTheRed
Thanks Larry I'll check that out, still jumping like a kid in a bounce house!

Re: Jumping VDO Tach

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:52 pm
by Mattq11
Had the same issue with my charmonix 550s. brazilian tach sent to palo alto and they replaced parts to german wity very fast service.. now it just jumps around.

palo alto sending me a signal dampner