error when sending PM

General Site feedback and Issues/questions

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

error when sending PM

Postby Natano » Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:31 am

Hey everyone,

For the last 2 days, I've been getting this error when sending a PM:

General Error

Could not connect to smtp host : 10060 : A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

DEBUG MODE

Line : 111
File : smtp.php


Any idea what it might be?

Nathan
User avatar
Natano
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA

Postby laneco » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:10 am

I don't know what it is, but I've gotten the same thing this morning when I was replying to an established thread.

angela
User avatar
laneco
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2046
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 5:54 pm
Location: Sunny SO. Oregon

Postby Guy_spyder550 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:23 am

Getting similar issues myself like it posts to the same thread 2 or 3 times with the same reply
Le Mans Classic - It's just like Goodwood Revival except with added Garlic
Guy_spyder550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1516
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 1:10 pm
Location: Hampshire UK

Postby Dave Avery » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:46 am

This is happening I think because something is up with notifications. When an action happens that needs to message people, your action (a post) goes through the list of people that should get an email. I think the changes to the bbs that were posted last month may be failing when a bad email address is encountered. Can someone link me a thread that this happens on every time?

I think someone has subscribed to notifications and the bbs is unable to send them the message.

Thanks
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby Dave Avery » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:46 am

For instance, I got no error on posting this message at all.
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby Larry Jowdy » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:48 am

Dave, even with a PM that is only going to a specific person? (see top post)

thanks
Larry
Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
User avatar
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Ontario, California USA

Postby Larry Jowdy » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:49 am

This is what I get when I post. It takes forever then the page appears however, my message is also posted???

This program cannot display the webpage

Most likely causes:
You are not connected to the Internet.
The website is encountering problems.
There might be a typing error in the address.

What you can try:
Check your Internet connection. Try visiting another website to make sure you are connected.

Retype the address.

Go back to the previous page.

More information

This problem can be caused by a variety of issues, including:

Internet connectivity has been lost.
The website is temporarily unavailable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
User avatar
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Ontario, California USA

Postby Dave Avery » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:56 am

Yeah, PM's go through the notification loop as well. My guess it is the server that has the duty of sending outbound mail, I am checking into it now.

Thanks
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby Simonster » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:46 am

natano asked me to check out his computer, and he keeps getting this error dialogue box:
All hail The Simonster
Image
User avatar
Simonster
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Postby Dave Avery » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:48 am

Lol... got the notification for that one Simon, thanks :)

It looks to be back up, it was my commercial Internet provider mucking about. *slap*. We may be moving, I'm getting tired of them.
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby Natano » Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:19 am

That's a good one Simon, thanks for posting that.

You forgot to mention that whenever I hit the \"ask simonster\" button, it kept sending me to that green thong supplier......
User avatar
Natano
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA

Postby Larry Jowdy » Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:27 pm

You want a green thong? I'll give you one!!!!
Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
User avatar
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Ontario, California USA

bib

Postby Ralphc » Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:15 pm

Think the Michelin man would like the one on the left...???
Ralphc
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Pleasanton, CA USA


Return to Site Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests