Zero posts when logging in

General Site feedback and Issues/questions

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

Zero posts when logging in

Postby PhotoAaron » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:16 am

When I have signed in the past few days on my work computer.....New iMac, Firefox 3.6.10, Qwest DSL. I see new posts have been made, but after logging in I get \"No new posts since last visit\".

Just me?
User avatar
PhotoAaron
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA

Postby Larry Jowdy » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:06 am

Maybe the software doesn't like Mac's??? You're the first to voice this problem.
Larry Jowdy
Site Administrator
User avatar
Larry Jowdy
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Ontario, California USA

Postby YamaBice » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:08 am

I get something like that on Safari, too, Aaron. My new postings counter will say (0), but I'll look over at the vertical crawl of topics, and there are definitely new threads started or postings that I haven't read.

Oh, and by the way, I'm on a Mac.
User avatar
YamaBice
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Mid-Ohio

Re:

Postby daVinci 550 » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:13 am

Larry Jowdy wrote:Maybe the software doesn't like Mac's??? You're the first to voice this problem.


Macs? I use a Mac, and have just come accustomed to the usual Microsoft glitches... :D

I'm still waiting for the Spyder Club iPhone App! [8D]
Matthew Gardiner
Vintage Spyder #412

Digital Media & Graphic Design
User avatar
daVinci 550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy, MD, USA

Postby danstern » Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:53 pm

I'm on a Mac and it all works fine.
(I use Safari as a browser.)
Dan
Quantum Mechanic, Black Holes refilled, Quarks repaired
Vintage #74, 2109cc
User avatar
danstern
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Postby fishboal » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:59 pm

Micro-squish doesn't have \"glitches\"... those are features :D
Si vis pacem, para bellum
User avatar
fishboal
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:10 am
Location: Oklahoma City

Re:

Postby PhotoAaron » Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:57 pm

YamaBice wrote:I get something like that on Safari, too, Aaron. My new postings counter will say (0), but I'll look over at the vertical crawl of topics, and there are definitely new threads started or postings that I haven't read.

Oh, and by the way, I'm on a Mac.



Still experiencing the glitch here.
User avatar
PhotoAaron
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA

Postby TerryB » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:13 pm

Aaron: Not a problem here in the Old Pueblo...PC using Google Chrome.
TerryB
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Tucson, AZ., USA

Postby SpyderMike » Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:14 pm

same problem here Aaron. It prompted me to start the \"where did everyone go?\" thread.
l my b
User avatar
SpyderMike
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Posts: 2929
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Tustin, CA, USA

Re:

Postby PhotoAaron » Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:41 pm

SpyderMike wrote:same problem here Aaron. It prompted me to start the "where did everyone go?" thread.


And you are, who again??????

:)
User avatar
PhotoAaron
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA

Postby PhotoAaron » Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:43 pm

BTW- No problem at home with a Mac Powerbook G4, OS 10.4.11 with Firefox 3.6.10 on Cox Cable.
User avatar
PhotoAaron
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA

Postby DannyP » Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:13 pm

Weird, no problems on Vista and IE8! Maybe viruses have found their way to the Macworld?
2016 Vintage
User avatar
DannyP
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 4203
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Wallkill,NY,USA

Postby RS-60 mark » Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:25 am

A few years ago I had the same problem (0 new messages). Actually I still do have the problem.

Someone geve me the work-around, click: You have no new messges.

When I do that, then I'm logged on and the \"0 new messages\" updates to the current count for me to then click on for the summary of most recent posts.

This will probably work for no one else . . . . . :D

edit: I'm on XP 2002, Firefox
User avatar
RS-60 mark
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Windsor, California

Postby &1 » Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:24 am

I'm having the same problem with my Imac at home (no new posts, although there are clearly new posts since my last visit). Furthermore I have to log in again and again (somehow I do not stay logged in).

At work at my windows-machine I have no problems...
User avatar
&1
Member
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 7:57 am

Postby beck688 » Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:12 am

I have the problem sporadically on everything I use. Wind 7 xp mac all with firefox.. I suspect it is a cookie issue. Try clearing your caches
User avatar
beck688
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:51 am
Location: Cumming Ga

Next

Return to Site Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest