Adding LinKs

General Site feedback and Issues/questions

Moderator: Larry Jowdy

Adding LinKs

Postby daVinci 550 » Fri May 21, 2004 4:59 am

Hello,

Occasionally experiencing problems submitting new links. Get \"Sorry, unable to submit\" message. Yes. I did fill out all fields correctly.

Matt
Matthew Gardiner
Vintage Spyder #412

Digital Media & Graphic Design
User avatar
daVinci 550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy, MD, USA

Postby Dave Avery » Fri May 21, 2004 5:55 am

Hi Matt

Glad you're sending them. First thing, you cannot rapid fire them, you have to wait a minute or two in-between... keeps some enterprising spammer from making a script to auto-submit hundreds of them.

The other thing; you do need to complete all fields, including site description.

If you have another problem, feel free to screen capture it, and email it to me at dave (AT) spyderclub.com and I'll have a look. Make sure you get the whole screen, with ALT+PRTSC (printscreen key) and paste it into a document or your email client if it will support it.

Thanks,

DMA
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby daVinci 550 » Fri May 21, 2004 9:52 am

Dave,

Believe me when I say \"I did fill out all fields correctly and did not rappid fire them\". Attached is the screen cap you requested. I will try again later from home. Thanks.
Matthew Gardiner
Vintage Spyder #412

Digital Media & Graphic Design
User avatar
daVinci 550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy, MD, USA

Postby Dave Avery » Fri May 21, 2004 10:08 am

Hi Matt

I'm not accusing you of not doing it right of course, just need the information to duplicate it. It works ok for me every time I try, so I'm puzzled.

Could you screen cap the form you have filled out, not the result? (back button)

Thanks for your help,

DMA
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby 550Joe » Fri May 21, 2004 10:50 am

Dave -
I have posted about a half dozen without a problem but I did notice that I had to wait a little in between posting.
_____________________________
Joe Maddock
Past Vintage #20 Owner
User avatar
550Joe
Old Timer
Old Timer
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Hendersonville, NC. USA

Postby Dave Avery » Fri May 21, 2004 11:01 am

The links don't post right away though, they let me moderate them before they are good. Matt, are you trying to send them through twice, not seeing it after you add it?
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby daVinci 550 » Fri May 21, 2004 5:29 pm

Yeah, yeah, yeah... I hear ya' links don't post right away. I heard ya' before. I have had much success posting before (evidenced by all my previous posts). Anyway, here is a screen cap of the filled out form before pressing the submit button. The results were the same. I already submitted this one last evening, but since I did not see it posted the next day I tried again. Parhaps your system rejects already submitted entries (even from previous days)?
Matthew Gardiner
Vintage Spyder #412

Digital Media & Graphic Design
User avatar
daVinci 550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy, MD, USA

Postby Dave Avery » Fri May 21, 2004 8:50 pm

eeew a mac ;)

Could be something with cookies. And yes, the link system rejects links that are already there.
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby Dave Avery » Fri May 21, 2004 8:53 pm

Ahhh... found one problem... they error out on the single quote, which is integral to SQL server, the database behind the site. I got your error, then re-submitted as Americas, not America's.

The link system was public license code, I don't know if I want to fiddle with their bugs. THanks for finding it though...
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby daVinci 550 » Sat May 22, 2004 10:13 am

Yes, of course a Mac. Wouldn't use anything less. And for the record I usually experience less trouble on the Spyder Club site from my Mac at home than from my Windows PC at work running Windows XP. Don't ask why.

But it appears the problem was not platform related, right? Glad you were able to locate the problem. Does this mean I should not type in any commas?
Matthew Gardiner
Vintage Spyder #412

Digital Media & Graphic Design
User avatar
daVinci 550
$$Donating Member$$
$$Donating Member$$
 
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy, MD, USA

Postby Dave Avery » Sat May 22, 2004 11:18 am

I think it was just single quotes.

My ewww comes from a recent 100 user intranet application for making purchase order reqs that won't look right or work at all on a Mac... Safari, Mozilla, IE 5.2.3, NS 7.1+, Opera. It works on three different PC browsers just fine.
David Avery
09 Porsche 911 TT Cab | 08 BMW 135i DD visit my e-business company
User avatar
Dave Avery
Site Admin/Owner
Site Admin/Owner
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2000 12:00 am

Postby darakhshan » Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:22 am

I was looking for a link mod for my forum as well and I did refere to author's website but could not find the link mod which is here
May I ask you to do me a favour and send me a direct link to this MOD/ LINK MOD this is great

thanks
darakhshan
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:19 am


Return to Site Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests